Skip to content

The committees of the FSHS include the FSHS Council, the Board of Trustees and Health Service Unit Management Groups. The Board of Trustees is responsible for the operations of the FSHS. The person in charge of operative management is the Managing Director. The FSHS Management Team assists the Managing Director in managing operations.

Our activities are guided by the principles of good governance as well as general efficiency and financial requirements. As a foundation, our organisational model enables speedy decisions and therefore flexible adaptation to changes required by society. Unlike other private entities, a foundation does not have members, owners, shareholders or partners.

The FSHS Board of Trustees

The decision-making power and responsibility for the activities of the FSHS lie with the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees is tasked with directing and developing activities and ensuring the appropriate organisation of activities and finances.

The Board of Trustees has a minimum of six and a maximum of 12 members. The Council appoints one member proposed by the Social Insurance Institution of Finland (Kela), one proposed by the Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities and one by FSHS personnel, together with three members proposed by the National Union of University Students (SYL). In addition to these, the FSHS Council may appoint a maximum of six members of the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees meets approximately once a month.

The Managing Director and members of senior management are appointed by the Board of Trustees. The Managing Director is responsible for the management of the FSHS as authorised by the Board of Trustees. The Managing Director also acts as a presenter of matters to the meetings of the Board of Trustees.

The FSHS Council

The Council has a minimum of 24 and a maximum of 30 members. The Ministry of Education, the National Institute for Health and Welfare, Kela, the Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities and FSHS personnel can each appoint one member to the Council, while the National Union of University Students (SYL) can appoint 18 members. Members of the Council are appointed for two calendar years at a time.

The Council meets twice a year for its Spring and Autumn Meetings. The Spring Meeting discusses issues that include the annual report of the Board of Trustees and adopts the financial statements. The Autumn Meeting discusses about the budget and the action plan, appoints the Chair, Vice Chair, secretary and certain other members of the Council if necessary, and appoints the Chair, Vice Chair and other members of the Board of Trustees if necessary.

Health Service Unit Management Groups

There are ten Health Service Unit Management Groups. Local Management Groups are appointed by the Board of Trustees. Information regarding the management groups of local service units can be found in their own website.

The Management Groups are tasked with monitoring their unit´s activities and changes in their operating environment, health promotion and community health work. The Management Groups attend to any reductions and increases in the number of health centres within the unit and other such matters. They also collaborate actively with FSHS stakeholders.

Katariina Poskiparta, Managing Director

Kristian Lind, CFO and CIO

Päivi Metsäniemi, Medical Director

Anne Tomperi, HR Director and General Counsel

Annemari Backman, Communications Manager

Chair, Director of Communications and Public Relations Tuomo Yli-Huttula, Finanssiala ry

Vice Chair, Managing Director Liisa Lähteenaho, RP People Oy

Project Manager Minttu Naarminen, Nyyti ry

Region Manager Mikkel Näkkäläjärvi, Service Union United PAM

Senior Legal Advisor Sami Uotinen, Suomen kuntaliitto

Special Adviser Tuomas Vanhanen, Eduskunta

Secretary General Sonja Raitamäki, SYL

Data scientist Antti Kähkönen, Finnish Net Solutions Oy

Head Nurse Sari Yrjänä, FSHS personnel

Chair Saara Hyrkkö

Vice chair Kim Kujala

Opetusneuvos Sanna Hirsivaara, Opetus- ja kulttuuriministeriö

Erityisasiantuntija Anu Nemlander, Suomen Kuntaliitto ry

Tutkimuspäällikkö Johanna Lammi-Taskula, Terveyden ja hyvinvoinnin laitos
Hyvinvointipalveluiden johtaja Tom Riski, Suomen yliopistot UNIFI ry

Hammashoitaja Sinikka Lintuala, YTHS

Lauri Jurvanen, AYY

Matias Takala HYY

Marko Koskelo, ISYY

Hannamari Vilhunen, ISYY

Juulia Saukkonen, JYY

Pia Etelävuori. LTK

Juho Keränen, LYY

Nuuti Vasari, OYY

Maisa Dyhr, SHS

Oscar Byman, SHS

Sonja Leván, TaiYo

Petra Oksa, TREY

Otto Elomäki, TYY

Ville Ritola, TYY

Petra Sjöberg, VYY

Kati Systä, ÅAs

Titta Hiltunen, SYL